Frank Cottrell-Boyce 6 Books Collection Set - Ages 9-14 - Paperback

No review yet. Write Review
Regular price
$40.00
Regular price
$58.00
Sale price
$40.00

Vendor : Pan Macmillan

Sku : B2D5436

Cash on Delivery (COD)
Big Savings
Customer Care 24/7

Frank Cottrell-Boyce is a British children's author who has written several acclaimed novels, many of which have been adapted for television and film. His books are known for their humour, heart, and sense of adventure, and they often explore complex themes in a way that is accessible and engaging for young readers. In this essay, we will take a closer look at six of Cottrell-Boyce's most famous works: Millions, Framed, Cosmic, The Astounding Broccoli Boy,Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth andRunaway Robot.

Titles in this Set:

  • Millions: the not-so-great train robbery
  • Framed: the perfect crime - it's a work of art
  • Cosmic: it's one giant leap for all boy-kind
  • The Astounding Broccoli Boy
  • Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth
  • Runaway Robot

This six-book collection brings together six fantastic stories from author Frank Cottrell-Boyce. The set includes brilliant stories such as The Astounding Broccoli Boy, which was shortlisted for the Blue Peter book award, Cosmic, Framed, Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth, and Millions. This set is ideal for children aged 9+ interested in funny and wacky stories, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and the Tom Gates series.

Millions is a novel about two brothers, Damian and Anthony, who stumble upon a large sum of money that has been accidentally dropped from a train. The boys are both dealing with the recent loss of their mother, and the sudden wealth throws their lives into chaos. Damian, who is a devout Catholic, believes that money is a gift from God and wants to use it to help others, while Anthony is more interested in using it to buy toys and gadgets. The book explores themes of grief, faith, and the power of money, and it is written in a light, humorous style that makes it accessible to young readers.

Framed is another novel that deals with serious themes in a humourous way. It tells the story of a boy named Dylan who lives in a small Welsh town that is struggling to stay afloat. When a famous painting is brought to the town for safekeeping, Dylan and his friends hatch a plan to steal it and sell it to a wealthy buyer. The book explores themes of community, economic hardship, and the value of art, and it is full of quirky characters and humorous moments.

Cosmic is a science fiction novel that tells the story of a boy named Liam who is mistaken for an adult and sent on a mission to space. The book explores themes of identity, growing up, and the challenges of parenthood, and it is full of adventure and humour. Liam's experiences in space are both exhilarating and terrifying, and the book does a great job of capturing the wonder and excitement of space travel.

The Astounding Broccoli Boy is a novel about a boy named Rory who develops superpowers after eating contaminated broccoli. The book explores themes of friendship, identity, and the dangers of relying on one's abilities too much. Rory's powers are both a blessing and a curse, and the book does a great job of showing how difficult it can be to navigate life with a unique set of abilities.

Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth is a novel about a boy named Prez who is sent to live with a foster family for the summer. Prez is initially miserable in his new home, but his life is turned upside down when he meets Sputnik, an alien who looks like a dog and is on a mission to save the Earth. The book explores themes of family, friendship, and the importance of protecting our planet. Sputnik is a charming and hilarious character, and the book does a great job of blending science fiction with humour and heart.

Runaway Robot is a funny and heartwarming adventure about two best friends helping put themselves back together.

When Alfie goes to Airport Lost Property, he finds more than he bargained for. A lot more. Because there's a giant robot called Eric hidden away on the shelves. Eric has lost one leg and half his memory. He's super strong, but super clumsy. He's convinced that he's the latest technology, when he's actually nearly one hundred year's old and ready for the scrap heap.

Can Alfie find a way to save Eric from destruction before Eric destroys everything around him?

Frank Cottrell-Boyce's children's books are a wonderful mix of humour, heart, and adventure. They deal with serious themes in a way that is accessible and engaging for young readers, and they are full of memorable characters and quirky situations. Whether you are looking for a book to read with your child or a book to read on your own, any of these novels would be a great choice.

About the author:

Frank Cottrell-Boyce is a British screenwriter and children's author known for his imaginative and humorous storytelling. He was born on September 23, 1959, in Liverpool, England, and grew up in a large Catholic family. He studied English at the University of Liverpool and later earned a master's degree in Drama from the University of London.

Cottrell-Boyce began his career as a screenwriter, writing for many popular British television shows, including Coronation Street and Brookside. He also wrote the screenplay for the 2012 London Olympics Opening Ceremony, which Danny Boyle directed.

In addition to his work as a screenwriter, Cottrell-Boyce is also a prolific children's author. He has written several novels for young readers, including Millions, Framed, Cosmic, The Astounding Broccoli Boy, and Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth. His books are known for their humour, heart, and sense of adventure, and they often explore complex themes in a way that is accessible and engaging for young readers.

Cottrell-Boyce's writing has earned him numerous awards and accolades. His novel Millions won the Carnegie Medal, one of the most prestigious awards in children's literature, and was also adapted into a successful film. His screenplay for the film Goodbye Christopher Robin was nominated for a BAFTA award, and his work on the London Olympics Opening Ceremony was widely praised.

In addition to his work as a writer, Cottrell-Boyce is also involved in a number of charitable organisations. He is a patron of the Liverpool charity The Reader, which promotes reading as a way to improve mental health and wellbeing, and he is also a supporter of the anti-poverty charity Turn2us.

Frank Cottrell-Boyce is a talented and multifaceted writer who has made a significant contribution to both children's literature and British television. His work is characterised by its humour, heart, and imagination, and he is a beloved figure in the world of children's literature.

Frank Cottrell-Boyce is a British children's author who has written several acclaimed novels, many of which have been adapted for television and film. His books are known for their humour, heart, and sense of adventure, and they often explore complex themes in a way that is accessible and engaging for young readers. InFrank Cottrell-Boyce is a British children's author who has written several acclaimed novels, many of which have been adapted for television and film. His books are known for their humour, heart, and sense of adventure, and they often explore complex themes in a way that is accessible and engaging for young readers. In